Newbie friendly progression

• Hello,

I saw some similar questions and concerns in other threads but the information seemed either outdated or didn't answer all my questions so I'm posting here again.
    I am new to the server, and am finding myself at a little bit of a dead end already just days after having joined, so I'm wondering if I maybe am missing something.

I realise there are plenty of ways to generate diamonds in the game, but the memento and gold conversion ratios seem impossible when compared to the prices of items and gear etc. It is my understanding that once I'm able to reach the high end instances the economy would not be much of a problem, so the question is: how do I get there without spending obscene amounts of money?

Some of the suggestions I saw were:

Farming cards: aside from event cards (and no one wants to grind that 24/7), it seems that the majority of cards are worthless and pay off very little.
    Farming tier stones: the prices of tier stones is lower than the charges would cost, and therefore it seems I must wait for charges to be on sale, which also requires a fair amount of money to start with.
    Mementos, shells, minigames etc. seem to offer no possible path for progression or any payoff that could help in climbing the way up in order to be able to start gaining coins.

Am I missing something major here? Is there actually a way for a new player to make their way to endgame without spending a fortune and without leeching their way? If so, could anyone please enlighten me?

Another question is about gear progression. Assuming the above is resolved, is there any point to try and aim for any gear lower than the endgame gear at the moment as a stepping stone or would that be useless? And if so, how do I go about starting that?